Failed Movable Type Experiment

So I attempted to migrate my blog from WordPress to Movable Type Open Source. I’ll go into specifics later, but suffice to say that it was a miserable failure. Problems with planets, constant admin interface crashes, extremely spamable, and most of all, just unusable.

As a result of my reversion back to WordPress, I have lost a few posts, I will try to migrate them back, but its possible I’ll just do a major ‘things that we have missed’ post in a bit. Anyway, more updates coming soon.

5 comments so far

  1. Rob Douglas on

    Would i be able to get an invite?

    also, symantec corp complained of a “wp-stats[1].htm” when visiting this page.. odd..

    ~Rob D

  2. James Henstridge on

    Was there any features in particular in MovableType that caused you to attempt a switch?

  3. Dread Knight on

    I suggest you try an open source content managing system such as drupal (www.drupal.org) or joomla (www.joomla.org).

  4. Kevin Kubasik on

    @James: It was really the mediocre performance of WordPress. I’ve heard MT not only handles traffic better (generates static pages) but has a _much_ easier/prettier admin interface. While I found the first point to be largely irrelivent with the advent of wp-supercache, the second is still pretty valid. MT does have a faster/easier to use admin interface, but wordpress 2.5 is supposed to overhaul most of that so well see…

    I really should just do the Django thing (good learning experience) but I really prefer my blog to be a passive thing, and not something I worry about the technical components of (beyond a few fun hacks every now and then) đŸ˜‰

    @Dread Knight: They seem like overkill, I really just want a blog, my last look at Joomla made it really too heavy for my interest (im on shared hosting, so anything CPU laden doesn’t tend to do to well, although bandwidth is easy to come by). I’ve used drupal on several occasions before and have had mixed results, but that was almost 2 years ago, so its probably worth another pass at some point. However, in all honesty, if I ever switch again, it will probably be to some python-powered blogging platform, as I really have grown tired of PHP’s quarks (and some PHP scripters abilities to make even simple logic almost unreadable, as a general rule, tracing a train of thought in python is significantly easier, making little modifications to a platform much more managable)

    DISCLAMER!!!!
    These are gross generalizations that I have noticed and not hard truth. Just my $0.02, please feel free to correct me, just be civil.

  5. ViffTrieriLaw on

Leave a comment